Daryl Mills, Interior Decorator and Garden-Designer.

Daryl Mills is a man with style and flair, he has been fortunate to pursue an artist life initiated at age 18, starting in landscaping which incorporated an Art Gallery in Martin Street Gardenvale. This enabled him to follow a whim to England on the ‘Fairstar’ liner ( one-way ticket, knowing no-one there) to start an adventure!!

Whilst working in Shoreditch London he was thrust into the swinging 60’s- albeit the final year, of Kings road, Chelsea and the world of photography which incorporated furniture and fashion. His first set design job saw him working with Helmut Newton.

Daryl has since worked in T.V and Film Art direction and design, Garden Design and maintenance, – ‘The garden whisperer’.

He was the first to sell mens vintage clothing in Melbourne and had a shop selling Art Deco, Decorative Arts, Vintage Luggage and Accessories.

Interior Decoration- Georgian, Arts and Crafts, Victorian, Edwardian, Deco, Modern, Contemporary and 50’s and 60’s.IMG_9464IMG_0743IMG_0756IMG_1276IMG_1228IMG_1244IMG_8131IMG_1282IMG_1283IMG_1299IMG_1314

IMG_1325IMG_1236

IMG_0744

I met Daryl at a friends exhibition, painter Angus Jones. I noticed he was well dressed, wearing a blue and white pin stripped suit, handkerchief in his left pocket and black hat. I wanted to meet this suave man, I had a glass of wine, relaxed a little and introduced myself.

Daryl was charming and friendly, we chatted for some time he invited me to his home but warned me it was not quite in it usual state of perfection, the contents of his shop stored in most every room.

Wow, my jaw dropped when I stepped foot in the house, the interior architecture is something in its self. My eyes skimmed over the boxes and zoned in on the many finer things.
IMG_9443

IMG_8017

IMG_9439 IMG_8049 2

IMG_8072

IMG_8094

IMG_8154

IMG_9452

IMG_8136IMG_9433

IMG_8085

IMG_8104IMG_8109Written by Bernadette Farrugia and Daryl Mills.

Photography by Bernadette Farrugia.

Comments

  1. I just love ..love it all. When I look at this I feel I am home, you inspire me and my creative soul, that says more is more is more!!
    Keep being you, remember everyone else is taken…Big Hugs Wallis

    Like

  2. Dear Daryl so enjoyed this insight as to the man behind the posts .i know your face as I guess we’ve been around the traps.. During my Deck phase I had vases of this glass tulips, I loved them. I guess I gave them away!

    Like

Leave a comment