Marko Maglaic, Artist studio

Marko, was standing outside enjoying a bowl of noodles looking out for his companion, Xavier a cat. I was driving heading to the Irene warehouse. I knew the building was a thriving artist community space. Hoping to meet someone that interested me, who had a studio in the building. I pulled up out the front, and there he stood. Marko and I both agreed it was no chance meeting. Hitting it off instantly, he showed me upstairs for a tour around the warehouse, then upstair to his top floor studio. Quite a small space a couple metres square, with good size window letting in the afternoon light. His studio filled with his paintings, and adorned with skulls and bones, crystal, rocks and various other objects found though the years. To my surprise Marko  spontaneously placed a skull and sword on a chair, as I  was taking a photo just as I do when I feel the need. Marko was born in Croatia on the 24th of February 1972, only 4 days younger than myself. He describes himself as a raw artist, living free from social constraints allowing him to be original. It has been, as is, necessary to his creative process giving him freedom and no excess baggage. Driven by chaos and naivety his paintings are conceptual and abstract in style. Crowed with human figures, words, numbers, urban and social scenes .Each painting providing simultaneous scenario and stories, the viewer having to look beneath and between the works allowing one to see the door ways into dream like dimensions. The world within the world, the art demands scrutiny and attention, leaving the viewer to become the creator of their own story taking control of the narrative. 25 years of entertainment.

IMG_7250

Xavier the cat.

IMG_7213

IMG_7222

IMG_6463

The skull Marko placed on the chair.

IMG_7214

IMG_7217

View from his studio.

IMG_7282

IMG_7276Marko’s work and on the wall a piece by Leister.

IMG_7268

Marko’s paintings displayed amongst some of the graffiti painted on the warehouse walls

IMG_7270

Marko’s amazing paintings l saw , the middle painting called l am.

IMG_7297photography by Bernadette Farrugia writing by Bernadette, editing Joanne Watchel

Comments

    • do you know why He died? My mother is his sister and she just found out…wenn need Informations

      please

      email:stefanybalint1967@web.de

      Like

  1. @stefanybalint1967

    I knew Marko for last 20 years when were were young men living in StKilda we used to always bump into each other all the time and we became good friends. Marko used to come around for dinner and we would sit and drink till late and talk and talk he was very smart and charismatic when he was happy and not on drugs (he was also a very good chess player). We lost contact after COVID but even back then I knew it was not going to end well, Marco had too many demons and he was worn down and lost when I last saw him.

    I am very saddened for the loss of my friend but at the same time now he is at peace. If anyone knows what happened to him at the end please let me know as I dont want to think of him being in pain before he passed.

    Chris Lim (lim.chris@hotmail.com)

    Like

  2. hi this is Bernadette, l meet Marko for the first time when l interviewed him for my blog. Sorry l don’t know what happened to Marko, l never saw him after the pictures were taken. He made me feel very welcome and was super friendly.

    Like

Leave a comment